The New…

Well, it has been officially announced. I have accepted the position of Pastor to Children and Families at Ontario First Church of the Nazarene in Ontario, OR.

These past few months Jesus and I have been talking a lot about what this would mean and if it should really happen. I have never liked change and it takes me a while to warm up to an idea. But here is what I have known all along: Jesus does not change. He does not ask anything of us that is completely out His will (His will for us to know, experience, and share in His love). So I am at peace about following Him in this change.

I’m excited for what God is going to teach me in this next chapter of life. I don’t know what it will all hold, but I know it holds a lot of promise. And I really believe that these last five years at Hillcrest Church of the Nazarene have really helped to prepare me for the next phase.

Hillcrest is an amazing church. I love them deeply. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to say how much I appreciate the fact that Pastor Tim took a chance on a rookie children’s pastor straight out of college! I am so grateful for the way everyone has allowed me to grow, learn, and experience life here in Vancouver. It has been an incredible adventure- and we still have a few more adventures in front of us over next few weeks!

So with a new thing in front of me, this is what I am keeping in mind: the amazing thing about the family of God is that we never really stop being family. I’m going to seriously miss being so near the Hillcrest part of the family… but I know we’ll always be family. And I am looking forward to getting to know my Ontario family!

About Pastor Connie

Connie grew up moving all over the States. Seeing the sites and experiencing the cultures across our country helped develop a love for traveling. Connie spent middle school and high school living the Northwest. After graduating high school, she attended Point Loma Nazarene University were she received a degree in Child Development. She earned her Master’s in Pastoral Ministry from Northwest Nazarene University and currently serves at Pastor to Children and Families in a church in Eastern Oregon. If she is not at the office, or out with elementary kids, or watching Upward basketball, she is filing her time with exercising, coffee shops, movies, and game nights. Currently she is reading Strengths Based Leadership (Tom Rath & Barry Conchie) and her life goal is to finish War and Peace by Tolstoy. Top movies: The Princes Bride, Joyeaux Noel, Despicable Me Top music: Derek Webb, Rend Collective Experiment, David Crowder Band, Tyrone Wells Top places to travel: San Diego, England, anywhere warm View all posts by Pastor Connie

Leave a comment