Finishing

I like to workout. There is something about exercise that I just really enjoy. Now I must admit that often in the middle of a routine, I become discussed with myself for calling this “fun.” Most of the time I get along fine, but every now and then I go through a routine that makes me think I’m sick in the head. This kind of happened the other day.
I was out at the high school track doing a routine in the heat of the afternoon. About a third of the way through, I was ridiculing myself for choosing this activity. I was tired, dripping sweat, and frustrated with how slow I was going. But that’s when I really started thinking things through.
I was really considering quitting part of the way through but I knew I would feel more frustrated with myself for quitting than I would feel tired from working hard. At that point, it became a matter of will and shear determination to finish. So I set out for one more lunge at a time. And as I was lunging around the track I had another thought.
How many times do I face something in life that it feels easier to quit than to finish? There are times that a job seems more difficult than it is worth, or a relationship seems easier to let go than to work through. In the middle of it all, quitting seems like a better idea. It sometimes seems like all the pain, sweat, and frustration is just not worth it.
Sometimes following Jesus seems the same way. It is not and easy thing to set out to follow His call and pattern of life. As a matter of fact, it’s completely against our nature. So is running up and down high school stadium stairs. There is nothing natural about that. But if I continue to train and practice, it does become slightly less painful each time.
I think it is the same in obeying Jesus’ call. Each time I say yes to Him and no to quitting, it becomes a bit easier. Or at least it is one more victory to celebrate!
In Philippians, Paul writes, “Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” Paul knew this whole follow and obey Jesus thing was not easy. It would take one step at a time, shear determination, and Christ to finish well.
Part of me really did not want to finish that day at the track. But the idea of quitting became unoptional. That is how I want to live my life following Jesus. I don’t want to peter out before the end- no matter how tempting it is. My prayer is to take one more step (forget what is behind), stay focused on the challenge (strain for what is ahead), and finish well (press on toward the goal).

About Pastor Connie

Connie grew up moving all over the States. Seeing the sites and experiencing the cultures across our country helped develop a love for traveling. Connie spent middle school and high school living the Northwest. After graduating high school, she attended Point Loma Nazarene University were she received a degree in Child Development. She earned her Master’s in Pastoral Ministry from Northwest Nazarene University and currently serves at Pastor to Children and Families in a church in Eastern Oregon. If she is not at the office, or out with elementary kids, or watching Upward basketball, she is filing her time with exercising, coffee shops, movies, and game nights. Currently she is reading Strengths Based Leadership (Tom Rath & Barry Conchie) and her life goal is to finish War and Peace by Tolstoy. Top movies: The Princes Bride, Joyeaux Noel, Despicable Me Top music: Derek Webb, Rend Collective Experiment, David Crowder Band, Tyrone Wells Top places to travel: San Diego, England, anywhere warm View all posts by Pastor Connie

One response to “Finishing

Leave a comment